Bombay Breakfast! Huh?!

Bombay Breakfast

Bombay Breakfast

That’s right. Made it myself, named it myself, and now I’m sharing it with you. This morning, just as most mornings, was a rush with the kids to get them ready and out the door for school. By the time I got to the kitchen with the kids, they had about 20 minutes before they had to be ready to run into the car so their mother could get them to school on time. My 3.5 year old son was pretty easy with his breakfast request. “Oatmeal please pappa” he said. Great, no problem. Dump a packet in a bowl, add some warm water, some milk, and he’s good to go. My 6 year old daughter on the other hand is a high maintenance kind of girl. She knows her pappa can mix it up in the kitchen, so she doesn’t think any request is over the top. “Pappa, I want a TASTEY egg sandwich. Please?” A simple enough request, if only we had some bread! These kids go through bread like it’s candy. We just finished our last loaf yesterday and now I have one egg left, and no bread. “Sure darling. Go sit down. I’ll put something together for you in a few minutes”. As she took her seat at the table I looked around the kitchen and spotted one piece of pita bread left. BINGO! Now she also asked that it be tasty. So a plain egg sandwich just won’t do. Nor would I ever just make a plain egg sandwich…that’s just not fun! I took out the one remaining egg, some Colby Jack cheese, and an onion. And so began the creation of what I am now calling my “Bombay Breakfast”. Check it out:

INGREDIENTS:

  • 1 Egg
  • Half a Pita Bread
  • 1/4 of an onion, finely chopped
  • Butter (for taste)
  • Shredded Colby Jack Cheese
  • Garam Masala
  • Salt (to taste)

PREP TIME: 7 minutes
COOK TIME: 7 minutes
DIFFICULTY: Easy

PREPARATION:

    1. Add the finely chopped onion to a small, non-stick frying pan on medium heat. Spray the pan with some non-stick spray, or add a small drop of olive oil just so the onions have something to sauté in.
    2. While the onions are browning, crack the egg in a small bowl and whisk. Add a small pinch of salt and two pinches of garam masala. (I make my own but you can use store bought garam masala).
    3. Keeping an eye on the onions so they don’t burn, stir them gently and add the egg. Scramble the eggs with the onions for a minute or two.
    4. Once the eggs are scrambled, and cooked to your liking, sprinkle the cheese over the top of the eggs. Turn off the heat so the eggs don’t burn, and wait a few minutes as the cheese melts over the eggs. If you need to cover the pan for a minute to contain the heat so the cheese melts, go ahead and do so.
    5. Next, gently butter both sides of the pita and then stuff it with the scrambled eggs. If you desire more cheese, sprinkle some more cheese into the sandwich.
    6. Place the sandwich in the toaster oven and toast until the outside of the pita has a slight crunch around the edges. Serve, and enjoy!

The hint of garam masala with the egg, sautéed onions, and melted cheese gives an AMAZING flavor which I’m sure you will enjoy! This same thing can be done with an omelet. For added flavor, try adding finely chopped green peppers! Try it out and let me know what you all think!

