A Nice Day For a Wok!

Another wonderful Sunday where I got 4 hours to myself to do some cooking so we can have our meals prepared for the week. It is enjoyable, but after 4 hours of standing in the kitchen, I am definitely in need of a little rest, and some good food!  But I had a chance today to have some fun with the dishes I was cooking. I was eager to try something a little different, so I decided to make a spicy shrimp curry in my trusty wok.  I usually only use it for things like stir fry rice, chili chicken, or some other Chinese dish, but today I wanted to see how my shrimp curry would turn out. This particular dish is no joke with the spice level. Two pounds of shrimp, one chopped red onion, 3 teaspoons of curry powder, and some salt. That’s it. It’s firey, but delicious with some rice and yogurt. Cooking in the wok on high heat thickened the curry, which made this dish even better than usual. Now I can even enjoy it with some naan or bread! I’m not sure if I will go back to cooking this in my heavy bottom pan anymore!

For the kiddies, it was pretty simple. They love a nice sauté shrimp. Recipe for both dishes below!

Spicy Shrimp Curry and KID friendly saute shrimp

Spicy Shrimp Curry and KID friendly sauté shrimp

SPICY SHRIMP CURRY

INGREDIENTS:

  • 2 lbs shrimp (peeled)
  • 1 Large red onion finely chopped
  • 3 tablespoons curry powder (red not yellow)
  • 1 tsp fennel seeds
  • 1/2 cup water
  • 3 tablespoons olive oil
  • Salt (to taste)
  • Chopped cilantro

PREP TIME: 15 minutes
COOK TIME: 20 minutes
DIFFICULTY: Easy

PREPARATION:

  1. Peel shrimp and place in a bowl with curry powder and 1/4 of water to help coat the shrimp.
  2. Add oil to a hot pan. Sauté onions on high heat until dark brown, almost black.
  3. Add the shrimp and remaining water. Cook on medium-high heat until shrimp is cooked and water is reduced to a thick sauce.
  4. Add salt and fennel seeds. Cook for an additional 2 minutes, then remove from heat. Garnish with cilantro and serve.

KID-FRIENDLY SAUTE SHRIMP

INGREDIENTS:

    • 1 small onion, finely chopped
    • Half pound shrimp
    • 1 tsp salt
    • 1 tsp mustard seeds

PREP TIME: 10 minutes
COOK TIME: 15 minutes
DIFFICULTY: Easy

PREPARATION:

    1. Peel shrimp and set aside in a bowl.
    2. Sauté onions in a small, non-stick frying pan until dark brown, almost black.
    3. Add mustard seeds and sauté for an additional 2 minutes.
    4. Add shrimp and cook until no longer pink, and edges become crisp. Add salt (to taste).
    5. Remove from heat and serve.
